The Legacy web portal (https://legacy.app.remote.it) is an interface to make connections with remote.it.
This portal is being maintained to provide continued support for Remote.It's long time customers while we transition to using the new web portal at https://app.remote.it.
The Actions Menu is accessed from the Devices view.
The following is a summary of available Actions in remote.it. Prior to selecting an action, select the list of Devices to perform that action on by checking the box in the leftmost column. Actions may be applied to one or more Devices.
The following Actions are available in remote.it and described below:
- Execute Script
- Set Category
- Clear Status
- Transfer Device
Sharing allows any Device to be shared with one or more remote.it users. Enabling remote.it Sharing grants permission to access a device(s) in your account. This is useful for allowing teams of people (each with their own login credentials) to have access to a single device. The device owner has complete control of what other remote.it accounts may connect. In order to share access to a device in your account, the other user must have a valid remote.it user account. Once the device is shared, the Share column icon will change indicating that Device is shared to another user. See the sample screenshot below.
There is a delay from the time you Share a device(s) to another user until the device appears in their Manage Devices view. Please be patient and check your email for confirmation that the request was received and is being executed. It might take as long as 5-10 minutes after receipt of email notification until the Share status is updated and shown in the remote.it Manage Devices grid.
When a shared Device is no longer meant to be Shared, use this Action to remove the sharing privileges previously granted.
There is a delay from the time you remove Sharing from a device(s) until the device disappears from the other User's Manage Devices view. Please check your email for confirmation that the Remove Sharing request was received and is being executed. It might take as long as 5-10 minutes after receipt of email notification until the Share status is updated and shown in the remote.it Manage Devices grid.
Find more detailed information about Sharing at the links below.
Execute a Script
Scripts may be used to perform specific actions on your devices if they support scripts. The Status columns can be updated to reflect the Script actions that were performed.
Learn more about scripting at the link below
Category columns allow you to add additional arbitrary information to the selected Devices. Once you add the details, the Category columns can be used to Sort and Group Devices. Example: Add "San Francisco" to selected Devices in Category A column. Now you can sort, group or filter devices by "San Francisco".
Category information can also be set during Bulk Registration.
After running a Script which writes status info into the Status Columns, you may choose to Clear a Status Column if it is no longer required. Clear Status does not impact the Script that was previously executed. It simply clears the Status Column.
Transfer the selected device(s) to another remote.it account. After the transfer is completed, you will no longer see the Device in your account, and it will appear in the selected Contact's account.
Device transfer can be performed only on the owner's device. Devices shared from other accounts can not be transferred. Also, please be aware that the share information will be cleared with the transfer.
Finally, transfers cannot be undone, so make sure you have selected the correct device(s) and the correct account to receive the device(s).
Remove Device(s) from your device list. The Device must be offline to remove it from the Device list. Please note this Action does NOT remove (uninstall) any software from your device. In order to uninstall or remove all remote.it software from your device, use the Debian dpkg utility:
If you installed the remoteit package
sudo dpkg --purge remoteit
If you installed the connectd package
sudo dpkg --purge connectd
4. Search and Filter Modes
The standard "Devices" page in remote.it works well if you have up to a few dozen devices, but beyond that it becomes difficult to find a specific device without scrolling around. Make your life easier by using the Search/Filter mode.
Filter mode finds the entered string anywhere in the Device Name and is not case sensitive. This mode is the default mode of your account. Filter mode is enabled when "Device Search Only" is not checked, as shown here:
This example shows the filter term "timer" matching a single Device Name, "Game Timer Pi 70".
This shows the filter term "device" matching a number of Device Names.
As you are typing in a Filter term, it does not become active until the third character you enter.
Search mode doesn't display any Devices until you enter the term which you wish to be matched in the Filter box.
First, you must select the "Device Search only" checkbox:
Note that no Devices are shown.
Enter a search term and press Enter.
To match a string anywhere in the Device Name, add an asterisk at the beginning of the search term.
If there is no match, you'll see this warning:
If there are more than ten matches for the search term, you'll see:
If this happens, add additional characters to the search term to narrow it down.